2016 winner, Jennifer West  (right) accepts the award for her story "M.A.G.D.A."  from competition director Sara Cameron McBean. Read her story below.

Scottish Arts Club Short Story Competition

Follow the Scottish Arts Club Short Story Competition on Facebook
Contact us

​​Jennifer West wins the 2016 competitio with her story M.A.G.D.A.

​Commendations earned by Rosie Dodd and Heather F. Reid

Congratulations to Jennifer West, author of 'M.A.G.D.A.', the winner of our 2016 Scottish Arts Club Short Story Competition. Jennifer's story was chosen by Alexander McCall Smith as the top story. He said it was 'highly amusing... and a very fine example of how the sting in the tail can make a short story memorable.' Jennifer received her award of £800 at the Scottish Arts Club Short Story Awards Dinner held on Saturday 15 October.  
M.A.G.D.A. by Jennifer West
Two other finalists, Rosie Dodd, author of 'The Move' and Heather R. Reid who wrote 'Junk' took home commendation cheques of £100 each. All the finalists received a signed copy of an Alexander McCall Smith book and his poetry pamphlet, 'The heart of each of us.'  
As Long as it Takes, by Susan Haigh
The Move, by Rosie Dodd
Junk, by Heather F Reid
Lemonade, by Jane Swanson
Stardust and Stilton, by Margaret Wood
​Supported by the Scottish Arts Club
2014 winner, Sandra Ireland, accepts her award from Alexander McCall Smith. Read her story, 'The Desperation Game' below.
The Scottish Arts Club Short Story Competition is open to writers worldwide aged over 16 years, published and unpublished.  Stories entered for the competition should be 1,500 words or less and can be on any topic. The stories do not have to be associated with Scotland.

A team of dedicated readers assists the selection process with Alexander McCall Smith making the final selection of the winner and the runners-up.   Enter here

​​2017 competition now open for entries

​​Isobel Lodge Award for New Scottish Writing

From 2017 we will be presenting the new £500 Isobel Lodge Award for New Scottish Writing. All qualified entrants to the Scottish Arts Club Short Story Competitionmay also be considered for this award which champions new Scottish writing. Read more.

​​Previous winners of the Scottish Arts Club Short Story Competition

2015: The Tale of Penelope Cupcake by Ruth Howell

"Alexander McCall Smith said he chose Ruth Howell's story, The Tale of Penelope Cupcake as the winner of the 2015 Scottish Arts Club Short Story Competition because "it is a very unusual short story which contains a wonderful element of surprise and delight."  
Read "The Tale of Penelope Cupcake"

2014: The Desperation Game by Sandra Ireland

Sandra Ireland's entertaining tale, The Desperation Game won for its insight, humour inventiveness and surprising twist.
Read "The Desperation Game"